Inauguration Day: Kincannon and 4 New Council Members Take Office

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
[email protected]
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

Last item for navigation
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
News item

Inauguration Day: Kincannon and 4 New Council Members Take Office

Posted: 12/21/2019
Indya Kincannon swearing in ceremonyIndya Kincannon was sworn in today (Saturday, Dec. 21, 2019) as Knoxville’s 69th Mayor in an Inauguration ceremony at the Bijou Theatre.

The ceremony also included the swearing-in of four new City Council members – Lynne Fugate (At-Large Seat A), Janet Testerman (At-Large Seat B), Amelia Parker (At-Large Seat C), and Charles Thomas (5th District) – and City Judge John R. Rosson Jr.

Mayor Kincannon, elected Nov. 5, campaigned on a message of putting people first as Knoxville continues to grow and thrive. As Mayor, she will work to create and spread opportunity to all parts of Knoxville by empowering residents and strengthening pathways to good jobs and quality housing. Her commitment to responsible revitalization will encourage investment and entrepreneurship while also promoting environmental sustainability and inclusive economic opportunity.
Her Inaugural Address emphasized the importance of listening to the diverse voices that define our community. 
“During the campaign, I had the privilege of listening to many narratives, the unique stories, of people across Knoxville,” Mayor Kincannon said. “…We make better decisions when we show respect for all of these perspectives. As your Mayor I will continue to listen, and seek to better understand the experiences of all who we serve.”

A video of the full address is available on the Community Television of Knoxville website at and below:

You can also watch some of the ceremony on the City of Knoxville Facebook page at

Click here to view a photo gallery from today's ceremony.

Former Mayor Madeline Rogero introduced Mayor-elect Kincannon before she took her Oath of Office, saying, “I am pleased to have Indya Kincannon succeed me in office, because I know she has the intelligence, the temperament, the grit and the vision to be the leader we deserve.”

Yassin Terou, owner of Yassin’s Falafel House, served as Master of Ceremonies for the Inauguration. The Rev. Chris Buice, Senior Minister at Tennessee Valley Unitarian Universalist Church, and Pastor Joseph Tolbert, Senior Pastor at Foster Chapel Baptist Church, delivered the Invocation and Benediction, respectively.

Third-grade students from Beaumont Magnet Academy led the Pledge of Allegiance. The Vine Middle Magnet School Choir performed, and Fire Department Capt. Scott Warwick sang the National Anthem.

Immediately following the Inauguration, the new City Council met and selected 6th District Councilwoman Gwen McKenzie to serve as Vice Mayor. 

Andrew Roberto, 2nd District Councilman, will serve as Beer Board Chair, and At-Large Seat C Councilwoman Amelia Parker will serve as the City Council representative on the Knoxville Transportation Authority board.

More information is available at

Please follow Mayor Kincannon on social media:

• Facebook:

• Twitter: 

• Instagram:

Indya Kincannon swearing in ceremony