• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
The Pension Board administers the Pension System for the City of Knoxville. The Board may hire a trustee to serve as custodian of the investment funds, and supervises, controls and may remove the trustee if necessary.


The Pension Board has 9 members: The Mayor and Finance Director are ex officio members of the Board; City Council selects one member; Employees elect 4 members to the Board, one from the Knoxville Fire Department, one from the Knoxville Police Department and two from General Government departments. 

The final two members of the Pension Board are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. These two Mayoral appointees must reside within the City of Knoxville, have expertise in finance or accounting, and must not be a City of Knoxville Employee.

Members serve a three year term but is limited to two consecutive terms then a one year break.


The Pension Board meets once a month on second Thursdays, in the Pension Board offices located in the Public Safety Complex at 1650 Huron Street.

Click here to view current board membership and to check for opportunities to serve on this board.