Tree Board History

Last item for navigation
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
The City of Knoxville Tree Board provides a valuable opportunity for tree advocates to come together to discuss ways that Knoxville may preserve its valuable tree canopy.  

The Board was created around 1992 to accompany the Tree Ordinance that was passed around this same time. Sharon Parrish served as the first City Arborist. Janet Bunch served as the first City Horticulturist. Since 1994, Jeff McCarter has served as the City's Arborist and he is a Certified Arborist through the International Society of Arboriculture.

In 2012, the City of Knoxville hired Kasey Krouse as Knoxville's first Urban Forester. He is currently responsible for managing the City's forestry program, including care of trees on City property and planning for future tree planting.

For many years, Jim Cortese served as Chair of the Tree Board. The next Board Chair was held by long-time tree professional Tom Wolf, President of Wolf Tree Experts, Inc. David Vandergriff from the UTK Knox County Extension's Office was the next Board Chair followed by Sam Adams from UTK Facilities Services.

Dale Madden, Landscaper at Earthadelic, is now chairing the City Tree Board.