• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
City Council

City Council also acts as Knoxville's Beer Board which regulates beer permits in the City of Knoxville. 

The Beer Board establishes policy and procedure for the issuance of permits to sell beer, and to compel enforcement of the City Code by means of inspectors. Beer permit applicants must appear before the Beer Board for consideration of their request for a beer permit.

The Finance Department is responsible for the beer permit application process for the City Beer Board and liquor-by-the ounce licensing.

Each board meeting meets at 5:00 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City County Building, prior to the second City Council Meeting of each month. View the Beer Board Monthly Meetings Schedule below.

Beer applications may be reviewed at the City Business Tax Office, Room 445-450, City County Building, 400 Main Street from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.


City Council serves as the Beer Board. A Chairman is elected from among the members. Councilman Andrew Roberto is the Beer Board Chairman.

View the full City Council Schedule


Composed of nine members, City Council has six members elected from districts and three elected 'at-large' representing the entire city. 

Each Council member is elected to serve a four year term.

Will Johnson and the staff of the City Recorder's Office supply assistance to City Council. Council members can be reached by phone through the City Recorder's Office at 865-215-2075 or fax at 865-215-4269 or by mail at City of Knoxville, P.O. Box 1631, Knoxville, TN 37901.


Beer Board Chairman
Andrew Roberto - 2nd District
1005 Hayslope Dr.
Knoxville, TN  37919 
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2021

Tommy Smith - 1st District
2240 Hillsboro Heights
Knoxville, TN 37920
Phone: 865-567-6211
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2021 

Seema Singh - 3rd District
1012 West Park Drive
Knoxville, TN  37909 
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2021

Lauren Rider - 4th District
229 E. Scott Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37917 
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2021

Charles Thomas - 5th District 
386 Hiawassee Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37917
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2023

Vice Mayor
Gwen McKenzie - 6th District

411 Carta Rd.
Knoxville, TN  37914
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2021

Lynne Fugate - At Large Seat A
PO Box 11245
Knoxville, TN  37939
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2023

Janet Testerman - At Large Seat B
5923 Kingston Pike, Suite 180
Knoxville, TN 37919
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2023

Amelia Parker - At Large Seat C
P.O. Box 6132
Knoxville, TN 37914
[email protected]
Term ends: December 2023