• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
The Knoxville Transportation Authority serves as the policy making board for all for-hire intra-city passenger transportation services including: bus transit service, taxicabs, and private for-hire transportation services. Additionally, the KTA sets schedules, fares and routes for KAT services.


The KTA has nine commissioners. Eight Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor, and one by City Council from its membership. Of the Mayor's appointees, one must be from the University of Tennessee, one recommended by the Central Improvement Business District, one from the disability community and another from the downtown business community. The Commissioners serve four-year staggered terms.

Councilman Tommy Smith is the representative from City Council.


Board meets monthly on the fourth Thursday at 3 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City County Building.  For the months of November and December, the Board meets the third Thursday at 3 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City County Building.

Click here to view current board membership and to check for opportunities to serve on this board.