Good Neighbor of the Year Award

Neighborhood Coordinator

David Massey
(865) 215-3232

400 Main St., Room 528
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
Diana Conn
Diana Conn

Each year, the Office of Neighborhoods accepts  nominations for the Diana Conn Good Neighbor of the Year Award, which is presented annually to a City of Knoxville resident who -- in the spirit of cooperation and with commitment to inclusive community -- has devoted time and talent in service to his or her neighbors and neighborhood. 

Nominations for this year's awards are now closed. The winner will be announced at the March 24, 2018, Neighborhood Conference at the Marriott Hotel.

The winner of the 2017 Award was Vicki Forester, founding member and first president of the West Haven Community Neighborhood Association. Eight Knoxville neighborhood residents were nominated for this year's Award, and they were honored at the 2017 Neighborhood Conference. The eight were nominated by their neighbors in response to a call from the Office of Neighborhoods.

Nominees for 2017 Neighbor of the Year Award
Pictured left to right: Gerry Moll, Jenny Wright, Linda Rust, Mayor Madeline Rogero, Vicki Forester, Janice Tocher, Terry Caruthers, and Kaye Bultemeier.

Here are the 2017 nominees, their neighborhoods or neighborhood groups, and the person(s) who made the nomination:

** Gerry Moll, Fourth & Gill Neighborhood Organization, nominated by Jenny Wright. 
** Grant Barton of downtown Knoxville, nominated by Lynne Miller. 
** Janice Tocher, South Woodlawn Neighborhood Association, nominated by Marcia O’Neal. 
** Jenny Wright, Fourth & Gill Neighborhood Organization, nominated by Gerry Moll.
** Kaye Bultemeier, RiverHill Gateway Neighborhood Association, nominated by Helen Bachrach.
** Linda Rust, South Haven Neighborhood Association, nominated by Janice Tocher. 
** Terry Caruthers, Colonial Village Neighborhood Association, nominated by Carol Blair.
** Vicki Forester of West Haven Village Neighborhood Community, nominated by Steven Disney and Stuart Hall.

Learn more about the 2017 nominees.

This award was named for the late Diana Conn and was presented to her posthumously at the 2013 Neighborhood Conference. Diana's son Jim made these remarks when he accepted the award on behalf of the family. Other details of Diana's life of service can be found in this article from the weekly newsletter published by the Office of Neighborhoods.

Previous Winners of the Award

2017 - Vicki Forester
2016 - David Gillette
2015 - Rita Schwartz
2014 - Betty Jo Mahan
2013 - Diana Conn