Metropolitan Planning Commission

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
The Metropolitan Planning Commission (MPC) was established in 1956 by Knoxville and Knox County as the agency responsible for comprehensive county-wide planning and administration of zoning and land subdivision regulations and remains so today, except for the town of Farragut. Funding for MPC activities comes primarily from city and county appropriations and from federal grants for specific studies.


The Metropolitan Planning Commission is an advisory board comprised of 15 citizens—seven appointed by the City Mayor and eight appointed by the County Mayor. These volunteers come from a variety of backgrounds and represent a broad spectrum of community interests and concerns. They serve staggered four-year terms without compensation and may be re-appointed. Terms are limited to two consecutive terms, then a one year break.


Board meets 2nd Thursdays at 1:30 pm in the Main Assembly Room of the City County Building.

Click here to view current commission membership and to check for opportunities to serve on this commission.