Waterfront Project Committee Selected

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

Waterfront Project Committee Selected

Posted: 08/05/2005
Mayor Bill Haslam announced today members of the City of Knoxville's South Waterfront Oversight Committee, comprised of representatives of South Knoxville neighborhoods, businesses, and public agencies expected to participate in a regulatory or technical capacity.

The City of Knoxville is in the process of selecting a consulting team to create a South Waterfront Vision and Action Plan that will set the framework for future development and investment in the area. The plan requires a combination of planning, urban design, and technical services to develop an improvement strategy for the south side of Fort Loudoun Lake between James White Parkway and the Norfolk Southern Railroad, across from downtown and the UT campus.

The Oversight Committee is an advisory, non-voting committee that will serve as a sounding board for the consultants as the project unfolds, identifying issues in need of attention, providing review comments, technical assistance and information.Three consultant teams, Bullock, Smith & Partners, Inc., EDAW, Inc. and Hargreaves Associates, have been selected for interviews, to be conducted August 17 and 18.Previously announced members of the Evaluation Committee -- Dave Hill, Chris Kinney, Bill Lyons and Sam Anderson, senior directors, City of Knoxville;City Councilman Joe Hultquist; Madeline Rogero, South Knoxville resident and former Knox County commissioner; and Caryn Conklin-Hawthorne, chief financial officer of Baptist Hospital -- will also serve as members of the Oversight Committee.Other Oversight Committee members are: City Councilwoman Marilyn Roddy; Mike Arms, chief of staff for the Knox County Mayor; Knox County Commissioners Larry Clark and Paul Pinkston; Mark Donaldson, Metropolitan Planning Commission; Jeff Welch, Knoxville-Knox County Transportation Planning Organization; Carol Elmers, TVA; Cathy Elliott, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; Pete Clausen, Gulf & Ohio Railroad; Alvin Nance, Knoxville's Community Development Corp.; Todd Napier, Development Corp. of Knox County; Mike Patterson, KUB; Michele Hummel, Central Business Improvement District;John Thomas and Jenny Arthur, Old Sevier Neighborhood; Martha Olson and Connie Beeler, Southside Riverfront Residents & Business Association; Ron Emery and Pat Scruggs, Chapman Highway businesses; Rachel Craig and Rob Dansereau, South Knoxville community-at-large; Mary English, Knoxville Rowing Association; and Kelly Conley and John Gumpert, South Waterfront property owners: large parcels.