Mayor Honors City Employees

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

Mayor Honors City Employees

Posted: 03/09/2010
Today at the Employee Recognition Luncheon the City honored 123 employees who have served at least 20 years with the city or have retired during the past year.

There were 42 retirees and 81 "Years of Service" Honorees honored at the event.

The 42 retirees provided 1,088 years of service to Knoxville and its citizens. That averages out to almost 26 years of service a person.

The 81 "Years of Service" Honorees have given 2,070 years of service to Knoxville and its citizens. That's an average of 25.5 years a person.

These 123 folks have worked 3,158 years cumulatively for the City of Knoxville.

The longest serving active employee at the event was Wayne Bell, who has served 45 years with the KPD.

Carol E. Kirksey-Russell, in Parks and Recreation, has been with the City for 40 years.

The longest serving retiree was William Arnold with the KFD at 39 years.

Firefighters Carl Kitts, Kenneth Milligan and Frank Potter are retiring after 38 years with the KFD.

Years of Service Honorees


Armstrong, Jerry Lynn
Arnold, James Kenneth
Beckley, Dennis P.
Berrier, Shane G.
Carter, Donna Kay
Chambers, Lisa Denise
Cole, William E.
Compton, Gary Scott
Davis-James, Jean Winifred
Edmonds, Robert J.
Faubion, Ricky Joe
Foster, Christopher Allen
Gillespie, Robert Michael
Griffitt, Terry Lamar
Hackney, Joseph
Holley, Kent Lacey
Houk, Monty Shoun
Jackson, Kenneth Ray
Levy, Jeffrey Sherrill
Lowe, Gary Steven
Maynard, Randall Charles
Mitchell, Benny Eugene
Morris, Cheryl F.
Morris, Mark Chambers
Nicley, Patricia M.
Paidousis, Daniel Keith
Payne Jr., Robert Warren
Pierce III, Ernie L.
Quinton, Leslie Daniel
Randolph, Edmond Allen
Rickman,Norman Lee (ret)
Riddle, Charles Michael
Risden, Cecil
Sams, Donald Ray
Schade, Timothy Scott
Shipley, James Allen
Smith, Joe Paul
Snoderly, Timothy Mark
Spooner, Kevin Dale
Stiles, Douglas Ray
Tucker, James Henry
Underwood, Damon Curtis
Wallace, Freddie Lee
Williams, Gregory Scott
Williams, James Verlin


Doughty, William Rogers
Henry, Susan Kay


Alexander, Tommy G.
Armstrong, Thomas P.
Bates, Bryan Jay
Branch, Walter Roy
Bubel, Van James
Caldwell, Jeffrey D.
Campbell,Garry W (ret)
Carman, Randall C.
Claiborne, James C.
Conard, Robert D.
Ferguson, Ricky Floyd
Fox, Thomas A.
Householder Jr., Herbert Earl (ret.)
Hubbs,Robert L (ret).
Johnson, Karen
Kelley, Donna Meredith
McCarter, Terry Lee
Moore, Deborah C.
Pressley, William Mark
Roehl,William C (ret)
Sasscer, Russell Gene
Taylor, Gregory Alan
VanDergriff, Linda L.
Waggoner,Mark A. (ret)
Whaley, Winfield S.


Armstrong, Michael P.
Boyce, Sharon E.
Conard, Karen J.
Evans, Robert L.
Gass, Cynthia A.
Moyers, Gary R.
Ogle, Roger L.
Spencer, Larry W.
Tompkins, Nancy L.
Waggoner, James M.
Welch, David W.
White, Tommy L.
Wilson, Rodney E.


Russell-Kirksey, Carol E.


Bell, Phillip W.

Retirees Honored

Arnold, William O.
Ballard, Sue Ellen
Bryant, James E.
Campbell, Garry W.
Chance, Roy L.
Coffey M. Linda
Edmonds, Rosa Lee
Fletcher, James H.
Geldmeier, W. Mark
Grant, Larry E.
Helton, Herman E.
Hicks, Eddie L.
Hill, Vicky J.
Hollingshead-Cook, Matthew
Householder , H. Earl Jr.
Hubbs, Robert L.
Jones, David Wayne
Key, Robert L., Sr.
Kitts, Carl E.
Lee, Donald R.
Luttrell, Llew Ellen
Mantooth, Ralph, Jr.
McCroskey, Wiley R.
Michaels, Carol T.
Milligan, Kenneth F.
Morie, Harry R., III
Nelson, Carolyn Sue
Peterson, Gregory M.
Potter, Frank E.
Rickman, Norman Lee
Roark, Jason A.
Roehl, William C.
Runions, Buddy Doyle
Ryerkerk, Douglas R.
Saylor, Russell M.
Smith, Lloyd N.
Smith, Rachel Cheek
Stephens, James R.
Stuart, Charles Thomas
Sutherland, Kenneth B.
Tinder, Nathan S.
Waggoner, Mark A.

 (There are actually 87 “Years of Service” Honorees because six of the retired employees are leaving on an anniversary year so they are dual retiree/service honorees.)