Development Corporation of Knox County

Last item for navigation
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
Todd Napier, President & CEO 
17 Market Square, #201
Knoxville, TN 37902
Fax: 865-546-6170 

The Development Corporation's objectives include assisting companies in assembling sites, developing buildings, facilitating permitting, assessing various infrastructure needs, and reviewing possible incentives that might be available for projects.The Development Corporation works closely with the Knoxville Area Chamber Partnership, The University of Tennessee, the State of Tennessee, permitting and regulatory organizations, utility providers, and others to develop the partnerships that are needed to make projects successful in Knox County.


The Development Corporation is managed by 13 directors. Five are designated by the position they hold:

1. Knoxville Mayor 
2. Knox County Mayor
3. Chairperson of the Knox County Commission 
4. Vice Chairperson of the Knox County Commission 
5. At-Large Member of the Knox County Commission. 

One of the remaining 8 Board members is a City Resident appointed by the City Mayor and confirmed by City Council. The remaining seven Board members are at-large Knox County residents appointed by County Commission. The Mayor of the town of Farrragut is a non-voting member of the Board.

The Knox County appointees serve five-year terms and the City appointee serves four-year terms. Terms begin in August. No director may serve more than 10 consecutive years.


The Development Corporation meets every other month (February, April, June, August, October, December) on the third Thursday at 8 a.m. at the Knoxville Area Chamber offices.

Click here to view current board membership and to check for opportunities to serve on this board.