• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
The regular meetings of the Mayor's Council On Disability Issues (CODI) are held bimonthly (February, April, June, August and October,) on the second Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m. in the Small Assembly Room of the City County Building. Special called meetings are held on alternate months (January, March, May, September and November,) in the Main Assembly Room and provide a panel discussion on a timely, disability-specific topic that is taped by Community Television (CTV). Typically, both CODI regular and special-called meetings last until 6:30 p.m.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL MEMBERS

The council consists of at least nine and up to 21 members. The members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council. Terms are for three years. Members cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.

MEETINGS SCHEDULE

The regular meetings of CODI are held on the second Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m. in the Small Assembly Room for the months of February, April, June, August, October and December. On the second Wednesday of the month for the other six months of the year, *panel discussions are held and taped for CTV starting at 5:00 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room.

* July 8, 2015 - Main Assembly Room at 5 p.m.
August 12, 2015 - Regular business meeting canceled. Annual Planning Retreat scheduled for Aug. 14, 9am-3pm at dRC - 900 E. Hill Ave.
* September 9, 2015 - Main Assembly Room at 5 p.m.
October 14, 2015 - Small Assembly Room at 4 p.m.
* November 11, 2015 - Main Assembly Room at 5 p.m.
December 9, 2015- Small Assembly Room at 4 p.m.

CODI Tapings 

Below is a list of previous tapings and their topics. If you would like to view a taping, go to http://www.ctvknox.org and select "CODI" from the Playlist.

• 03/12/14 - Aging in Place
• 11/13/13 - Affordable Care Act
• 07/17/13 - Emergency Preparedness
• 05/08/13 - Veterans Issues
• Equity Awards Breakfast 2013
• 01/2013 - Disability in the East Tennessee Region (PlanET)
• (CODI 243) - Elder Abuse and Neglect
• 11/14/12 - Senior Issues
• 05/09/12 - Closing of Lake Shore Mental Health Institute
• 11/09/11 - Alzheimer's Awareness Month
• 08/10/11 - Forum with Mayoral Candidates on Disability Issues
• 04/13/11 - Disability and PlanET
• 08/11/10 - Ten-Year Plan for Chronic Homelessness
• 07/14/10 - Voting and Disability
• 05/12/10 - The Economy and the Disability Community in TN


Mark Allan
Architect
Allan Associates Architects
5516 Wallwood Road
Knoxville, TN 37912
865-689-1302
markallan@allanarch.com
Term ends: 06/30/17

Larry Austin
Member
Amputee Support Group of Knoxville
2217 Spence Place
Knoxville, TN  37920
865-609-7111
larry7austin@comcast.net
Term ends 06/30/17

Sandy Booher
7913 Gleason Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919
423-315-0565
smbooher@comcast.net
Term ends: 06/30/18

Judi Brookshire
Director of Comprehensive Education Resource Center
TN School for the Deaf
3665 Iskagna Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919
865-579-2452
jubrook@aol.com
Term ends: 06/30/17

Angie Davidson, MS, CTRS
Recreation Program Coordinator
City of Knoxville
917-A East Fifth Ave.
Knoxville, TN  37917
865-215-1406
adavidson@knoxvilletn.gov
Term ends: 06/30/18

Victor Dockery
TN State Certified Peer Support Specialist; Bridges Facilitator;
WRAP Facilitator
Chairperson, Pastor Parish Relations
Trinity United Methodist Church
Amputee Support Group, Patricia Neal
6213 Starhurst Drive
Knoxville, TN 37921
865-558-9526
Vedvictor111@gmail.com
Term ends: 06/30/18

Coral Getino, PhD
Spanish Language Solutions
9240 Countryway Drive
Knoxville, TN  37922
865-384-5087
spanishls@yahoo.com
Term ends: 06/30/16

Wendy Hector
7823 Gleason Drive, Apt. #603
Knoxville, TN  37919
865-919-3560
Hectowen@gmail.com
Term ends: 06/30/17

Angela Hunter
Executive Director
Our Place Art Organization, Inc.
2211 Ridgecrest Drive
Knoxville, TN 37918
865-973-7297
Ms_amfth1@yahoo.com
Term ends: 06/30/16

Meaghan Johnson, MS, CRC, Vice Chair
Vice President
Employment, Training and Rehabilitation Services
Goodwill Industries Knoxville, Inc.
5307 Kingston Pike
Knoxville, TN  37919
865-588-8567
mjohnson@gwiktn.org
Term ends: 06/30/18

Kerry Jones
Member
St. Mary’s Stroke Support Group
COK Disability Services Office
400 Main Street
Knoxville, TN  37902
865-688-9996
familykjones@juno.com
Term ends: 06/30/16

Craig Lemak, Chair
Chief Operating Officer
Knoxville Center of the Deaf
3731 Martin Mill Pike
Knoxville, TN 37920
865-579-0832
clemak@kcdtn.org
Term ends: 06/30/18

Katherine Moore
Service Coordinator
disABILITY Resource Center
900 E. Hill Avenue, Suite 205
Knoxville, TN  37915
865-637-3666
kmoore@drctn.org
Term ends: 06/30/18

Janet Neely
1407 Southgate Road
Knoxville, TN  37919
865-384-8607
Neelyj4@bellsouth.net
Term ends: 06/30/18

Terri Newman
Nurse Case Manager
Blue Cross Blue Shield
5921 Fayette Drive
Knoxville, TN 37924
865-243-7512
terri_newman@bcbst.com
Term ends: 06/30/17

Whitney North, Secretary
AIA, LEED AP
Facility Planner
Scripps Networks Interactive
4300 Holston Hills Road
Knoxville, TN  37914
865-310-4605
WNorth@scrippsnetworks.com
Term ends: 06/30/16

Laura Payne
Rehabilitation Technology Services Provider
East Tennessee Technology Access Center
116 Childress Street
Knoxville, TN 37920
865-219-0130
LPayne@ettac.org
Term ends: 06/30/16

Dr. Rupy Sawhney
Industrial Engineering Professor
University of TN, Knoxville
512 Tickle Building
865 Neyland Drive
Knoxville, TN  37919
865-405-5655
sawhney@utk.edu
Term ends: 06/30/18

Warren Secrest
Manager
Volunteer Assisted Transportation
Knoxville-Knox County CAC
Office on Aging
P.O. Box 51650
Knoxville, TN 37950-1650
865-524-2786
warren.secrest@cactrans.org
Term ends: 06/30/17

Jennifer Shilling
Advocate
Disability Rights Tennessee
9050 Executive Park Drive, Ste. B101
Knoxville, TN  37923
865-670-2944 ext. 171
jennifers@disabilityrightstn.org
Term ends: 06/30/18

Christina Shipley
Cerebral Palsy Center
241 E. Woodland Ave.
Knoxville, TN  37917
865-523-0491
CShipley@cpcenter.org
Term ends: 06/30/18

Stephanie Brewer Cook, Staff Liaison
ADA Coordinator
Disability Services Office
City of Knoxville
400 Main Street
Knoxville, TN  37902
865-215-2034 Office
865-215-2962 Fax
865-215-4581 TTY
scook@knoxvilletn.gov